Chicago Quick Notes

One of the best cities in America/World.

Pizza: Piece Pizza was really good, though not your typical deep dish. Great ingredients and collab with Girl & the Goat. Home made beer too. Gino’s East: Really good and comparable to Giordanos (still my favorite). too much to eat for one person though. Lou Malnati’s was another great pizza spot. I made the mistake of going to the to-go place though so I’ll need to retry.

Italian Sandos: Al’s – Great sandwich although it’s a chain. Not my favorite but still enjoyed it. Johnnie’s Beef – man for $5 that is an amazing sandwich. Definitely the best (though it’s about an hour bus ride out of the city).

Kuma’s Corner: Death metal burger spot. Burgers were big and good but don’t think it’s necessary to go here more than once.

Crisp: Korean chicken sandwich spot. I thought it was pretty good so it was worth the trek to go here.

Au Chavel: Must go early if you plan to get a spot to sit for food. I had the bologna sandwich which was enormous and delish. Famous for it’s burgers so will have to go back for that or just get it in NY.

Sweet Mandy B’s: This place was alright. Don’t really remember a whole lot about it but don’t think I’d go back.

Mindy’s Hot Coco: The iced hot coco was pretty great. Love going through that area and finding spots like this. Would love to try the brunch here one day.

Chicago Skydeck: pricey for what you actually get here. Great views yes, but there are better things to see good views from.

The Bean: Obviously the biggest tourist thing you can do in Chi. Heavy crowds but right next to the Art Institute of Chicago museum which is great. Also close to the sports club which includes a great view.

Goose Island Brewpubs: If you’re a beer drinker, it’s fun to go. Worth stopping in and getting a real Goose Island as ownership was kept when selling the company.

Local Option Beer: Really enjoyed this spot. Great beer selection with knowledgeable staff.

Lawrence’s Shrimp on Canal: Headed all the way out to chinatown to get some shrimp, they were big and good but pretty normal to me. We also tried the frog legs which were not my cup of tea.

Wildberry: I love this breakfast place, though there are huge lines. French toast and all were amazing.

Do-Rite Donuts: Just normal donuts.

RSVP Gallery: High priced goods, they have cool things but nothing I’d really buy. Hype shit. See also: St. Alfreds for better priced goods.

Humboldt Park: This park is honestly whatever. Kind of bland and kind of a weird guy was there that creeped me out a bit but otherwise it’s a normal park with a lake.

Wrigley Field: Tradition at it’s finest. Really loved it, maybe just as much as Fenway.

Chicago Bulls stadium (United Center). Fun experience, super glad I was able to go and experience that.

From July 2019 Trip:

Pequod’s Pizza: It’s a good pizza for sure, almost has that grandma style feel to it, where it’s kind of bready, but with char on the sides, buttery, not too saucy, and not too much cheese. Still was good but I’m not even sure this counts as deep dish.

Honey Butter Fried Chicken: chicken sandwich was pretty good, consistency was a little bit off for me though, I think because of the slaw? I didn’t get to try any of the sides but I would try again.

Sawada Coffee: really cool space, the coffee though was alright, I had a military, which is matcha, coffee and hot coco, it kind of all comes through at once and makes it bland.

Federal Moto: very cool blue collar place, the owner was nice enough to open up for me after it was closed, the cafe looks like a cool kick it spot also, though very small.

3 Floyds Brewery: atlhough this is actually in Munster, IN and not Chicago, it’s about an hour out and it’s very grungy I would say, loud hardcore rock mixed with a dive bar, mixed with amazing beer, loved it.

Leave a comment